24 Oct 18-Collective greement Ratified by Government Services Members

24 Oct 18-Collective greement Ratified by Government Services Members

Government Services workers ratified a three-year collective agreement yesterday following a ballot count at AUPE headquarters in Edmonton.

A majority in favour of all returned mail-in ballots determined the outcome.

The agreement expires March 31, 2020 for more than 22,000 front-line government services workers and includes significant improvements to contract language, including:

  • Employment security
  • Workload
  • Contracting out
  • Classifications
  • Pay equity
  • Worksite harassment and discrimination
  • Fair hiring practices

These enhancements to language deal with significant issues that went unresolved for decades. Furthermore, wage increase negotiations for 2019 will start January 15.

All members of AUPE Locals 001, 002, 003, 004, 005, 006, 009 and 012 had the opportunity to participate in the mail-in ratification vote.

The GSBC thanks members for taking the time to vote on their tentative agreement, and for the patience and resolve shown throughout this very challenging round of negotiations with the provincial government.

Please do not hesitate to contact a member of the Government Services Bargaining Committee with any questions.


Local 001 – Faye Rever rever0001@gmail.com
Local 002 – Emille Currie activist2018@gmail.com
Local 003 – Mike Larson 003bargaining@gmail.com
Local 004 – Ken Weir kennethweir1@gmail.com
Local 005 – Randy Ramsden r.a.ramsden@hotmail.com
Local 006 – Donna Smith xsmith@telus.net
Local 009 – Darrol Mason masonfox1@hotmail.com
Local 012 – Terrie Wispinski twisp@shaw.ca


Dale Perry Lead Negotiator, 1-800-232-7284 or d.perry@aupe.org
Mac McNaughton Negotiator, 1-800-232-7284 or m.mcnaughton@aupe.org
Trevor Zimmerman Organizer, 1-800-232-7284 or t.zimmerman@aupe.org
Farris Sobhani Organizer, 1-800-232-7284 or f.sobhani@aupe.org
Tyler Bedford Communications, 1-800-232-7284 or t.bedford@aupe.org